Skip to main content

Public Defense practice areas

Learn more about the 6 practice areas of the Department of Public Defense (DPD).

Affirmative litigation

How we are litigating in support of systemic change.

Criminal defense

How we provide high-quality, client-centered representation for criminal cases.

Family defense

How we are working to limit the harm of the family policing system.

Involuntary commitment

How we are standing up for our clients' dignity and independence.

Juvenile defense

How we are making a difference for youth.

Sexual offender commitment

How we are fighting for clients facing indefinite civil commitments.